DCeased Reading Order

I can’t afford to buy every single comic or every trade that I would like, very few people can. So, generally I go for the ones which are ‘unmissable’. In 2019, when DCeased first came out I gave it a miss at first but a friend of mine told me that this was one to get.

I did not regret it, despite being an ‘else world’ storyline (not in the main continuity), DCeased was very well written with these alternate characters and events are properly fleshed out (no pun intended) and there’s more than enough meat on the bone for readers to be totally engrossed in this.

Written by Tom Taylor, pencilled by Trevor Hairsine and coloured by Stefano Gaudiano/James Harren – DCeased is an easy reading order to follow for those who want the basics as well as the hardcore issue collectors.

It is an easy story to read inside the main series with only 6 issues – but the world is greatly expanded with its tie ins making it a decently sized event. In total, there are 40 issues which is a decent size.

DCeased Trade Reading Order


This is the route I usually take, and to be fair to DC they have a decent job of collecting them all together in a way that you won’t miss out on anything and you can cherry pick what you want.

The order to read the trade paperbacks is DCeased/Unkillables/Hope at World’s End simultaneously, then Dead Planet and finally War of the Undead Gods.


This is the book with the main issues all included. Covers the prime events from start to finish as narrated by Lois Lane. Collects DCeased #1-#6 and a Good Day To Die #1.

  • Taylor, Tom (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 232 Pages - 03/23/2021 (Publication Date) - Dc Comics (Publisher)

DCeased: Unkillables

Unkillables is a spinoff series of tie-ins from the point of view of this Universe’s “villains” such as Deadshot, Bane, Lady Shiva, Cheetah, Captain Cold, Solomon Grundy, and Creeper with a lot of focus on Vandal Savage.

Absolutely not necessary but there are only 3 issues and the book is usually less than $10.

Dceased Unkillables
  • Taylor, Tom (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 144 Pages - 07/13/2021 (Publication Date) - Dc Comics (Publisher)

DCeased: Hope at World’s End

A spin off series around the ‘other’ heroes of the DC world such as Black Adam, Wally West, Max Mercury, Impulse and Jesse Quick. It’s only 176 pages despite collecting #1-#14. However, this is great for the DCeased reading order as all digital 14 chapters have been written to be read in chronological order.

For those after loose issues, you will have to give this a miss or just get them digitally.

Dceased Hope at World's End
797 Reviews
Dceased Hope at World's End
  • Hardcover Book
  • Taylor, Tom (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

DCeased: Dead Planet

Dead Planet (and War of the Undead Gods) happen after DCeased #6 so technically a sequel, in the same way Death Metal is a sequel to Metal. Collects DCeased: Dead Planet #1-#7 and is intended to read in order so easy to integrate into the reading order list.

Dceased: Dead Planet
  • Hardcover Book
  • Taylor, Tom (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)

DCeased: War of the Undead Gods

This is an ongoing series as of August 2022, so there is no trade for these. You’ll have to wait until 2023 for it or just pick up the loose issues. Chronogically, this happens after Dead Planet.

DCeased Issue by Issue Reading Order

Here is the intended chronological reading order for DCeased – this list can also be used for the trades for you to know when to stop reading one book and jump to another.

  1. DCeased #1
  2. DCeased #2
  3. The Unkillables #1
  4. DCeased #3
  5. DCeased #4
  6. A Good Day to Die
  7. DCeased #5
  8. Hope at World’s End #1
  9. Hope at World’s End #2
  10. Hope at World’s End #3
  11. Hope at World’s End #4
  12. Hope at World’s End #5
  13. Hope at World’s End #6
  14. Hope at World’s End #7
  15. Hope at World’s End #8
  16. Hope at World’s End #9
  17. Hope at World’s End #10
  18. Hope at World’s End #11
  19. Hope at World’s End #12
  20. Hope at World’s End #13
  21. Hope at World’s End #14
  22. Hope at World’s End #15
  23. DCeased #6
  24. Unkillables #2
  25. Unkillables #3
  26. Dead Planet #1
  27. Dead Planet #2
  28. Dead Planet #3
  29. Dead Planet #4
  30. Dead Planet #5
  31. Dead Planet #6
  32. Dead Planet #7
  33. DCeased: War of the Undead Gods #1
  34. DCeased: War of the Undead Gods #2
  35. DCeased: War of the Undead Gods #3
  36. DCeased: War of the Undead Gods #4
  37. DCeased: War of the Undead Gods #5
  38. DCeased: War of the Undead Gods #6
  39. DCeased: War of the Undead Gods #7
  40. DCeased: War of the Undead Gods #8

Last update on 2023-09-20 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API